Jumbled Thoughts.

Five things that have absolutely nothing to do with each other (except Spain):

1. The name “Blakely” is really hard for Spanish speakers to pronounce. In class this week, I could always tell when the professor was about to call my name for attendance because they’d stare at the paper, scrunch up their face, and slowly say “Blaaayyykell-ee. Blayykell-ee Greem?” Yep, that’s me. Sorry about that. Blame my parents?

Before class, two girls from Taiwan introduced themselves to me, and then asked for my name. When I told them, they just stared at me. Stared at me like I just lit the building on fire. I wrote it down for them and they responded, “you don’t have a Spanish name?” Uhhhhh, no. Am I supposed to? Ten minutes later I found out that the students from Asian countries have chosen Spanish names so it’s easier for people here to pronounce. Ahh okay now it makes sense. Maybe I should look into getting one of those?

2. The movie Vantage Point was filmed in Salamanca. I didn’t even realize that until one of my professors asked all of us why we chose to study abroad in Salamanca. One girl said she chose Salamanca because she saw the movie and thought that Salamanca was gorgeous. No one is going to argue with that.

Vantage Point in the Plaza Mayor in Salamanca

3. Every year, Spain has two long periods of sales called “Rebajas”. One is in July/August and one is happening now. It’s pretty much a month-long version of Black Friday sales (except I don’t have to wake up at ungodly hours to participate). Calle Toro, which has stores like H&M and Zara, is filled with insane shoppers looking for clothes and accessories at bargain prices. I haven’t shopped too much, but I did buy a nice scarf today on sale from 18 euros to 9 euros. Bargain shopper, right here. I see you rolling your eyes, Mom and Dad.
 4. Everyone has started planning their weekend trips! That is, everyone except Ali, Alex and me. We have decided to stay in Salamanca this weekend to relax and explore the city. ISA has kept us so busy since the second we stepped off the airplane, and we haven’t had a chance to sleep-in, relax, and explore the city or the nightlife in Salamanca. We decided it would be better to delay traveling until next weekend. However, the number one city on our travel lists are:
Ali: Lourdes, France
Alex: Paris, France
Me: Prague, Czech Republic

If anyone has any suggestions, leave them in the comments below! We will be planning this weekend, and could use some advice.

I'm coming for you, Prague.

5. Tomorrow is our first “Intercambio” (Language exchange) with Spaniards. We will be practicing our Spanish with them and they will be practicing their English with us. I’m expecting it to be kind of like our sorority/fraternity exchanges. Except in two languages.    I’ll let you know how it goes.

Pues, that’s all I got for you guys. Unless you want to know about my classes, but who really wants to hear about those anyway?

15 thoughts on “Jumbled Thoughts.

  1. Prague is great, just a really fun place! A few tips- be VERY cautious with the absinthe. Seriously, it’s lethal. See the John Lennon wall! So artsy and fun. Pub crawls are a great way to see their night life. Also, there’s a changing of the guards that is cool to see, but it’s only at certain times. Also, unlike other cities like Paris, you don’t need a lot of time for Prague. It’s a lot smaller. Oh and everything is really cheap there, but the exchange is crazy!!! We loved our hostel, if you want the name of it let me know!!

    • THANK YOU! Yes, I’d love the name of the hostel. You can put it on my Facebook or whatever you want. Seriously, any and all tips are needed and wanted!

  2. I’m so glad you’re having a great time. You better take advantage of that rebajas shopping. Your wardrobe will become part of mine, Jenny’s, Amanda’s, and whoever else may stumble in our apartment next year. lol Travel as much as possible (which I’m sure you will). How far are you and your friends willing to travel from Salamanca? Also, hope you have fun at your language exchange. Pretend it’s like workshop. Practice, Practice, Practice!! Love and miss you!!!

    • I will come back with many clothes for us to share, just don’t tell my parents. We will definitely travel, but we want to stay and learn Spanish as well. I’m pretty sure we don’t have a limit on how far we will travel as long as it’s not insanely expensive!

      Also, your rush workshop comparison is not amusing.

  3. Blakely, once in Prague you HAVE to go to Praterdome…biggest music club in Europe. It’s AMAZING 🙂 also i love you and miss you so much!

    • That’s really funny because I have already met two Bea’s (but pronounced Bay-a, not Bee) and we asked her if it’s a popular name in Spain and she said yes.

  4. Blakely, here are some of my jumbled thoughts for you regarding Spain.

    1) The coffee is better there. Maria brings it back with her every year, and I’ve been lucky enough to get some from her. Delicious.
    2) The anchovies are crazy good. If you like anchovies, that is.
    3) I love the name Eva. It happens to be Maria’s daughter’s name, but I’ve always loved it. And then your friends can also have fun saying “whateva Eva” like we do to her.
    4) Bobby spent the holidays in southern France one year. Local families sign up and host our sailors, so they got to spend Christmas having a traditional French meal. He loved the experience and said it was absolutely beautiful. Although I should probably refer to it as “the south of France” instead of “southern France” to sound less redneck-y.

    Looking forward to your next post!

    • I agree, the coffee here is too delicious to resist! I do not like anchovies, but my mom does! Eva is a great name, and “whateva Eva” is too funny. We will look into spending time in “the south of France”. It’s so close, so why not?!

  5. For your Spanish name (if you choose one) you should pick something that is also a common word in the English language, like Margarita! 🙂

Comment

