Why Not?

It’s become very clear to me that the theme of my life in Salamanca is why not?

Why not go to O’Hara’s for the Madrid vs. Barcelona game 2.5 hours before the game actually starts?
My Spanish Cinema class gets out at 7:30 pm on Wednesdays, so a few friends from class met my friends from the Residencia debajo del reloj at 7:30 to go save our spots at the pub. Nevermind that the game doesn’t start until 10, soccer in Spain is no joke. We ended up sitting in the front row which was a perfect position to see the screen yell at all those Real Madrid fans. (Those of you that know me, know that I love soccer. Those of you that know I love soccer, know that I am obsessed with Lionel Messi…especially you, Lj). This is not friendly competition people, it’s so much more. That’s why I love this place. Definitely in my top three most fun moments in Spain.

Why not go to karaoke night at the Irish Rover after the game to celebrate a Barcelona win?
And why not actually sing while I’m there? (You Shook Me All Night Long, by the way. Polly’s decision). We were basically just screaming into the microphone, quality stuff. But don’t worry, that’s not even the best part of the night (I know, right? What could possibly be better?). While we were there, some Spanish boys started talking to me really, really fast and I just stared at them. When will I ever get used to their 2908139 mile per hour conversations? Then, one of them asked me if I understood. If I had understood you, I probably would have responded with words.  He looked at me and said “¿Eres española?” (Are you Spanish?). No, but I want to kiss you right now for thinking that. Don’t worry guys, I didn’t actually do that. I reluctantly told him that I was from the United States, and he said that he assumed I was because I just looked like I was Spanish. Win. All I want in this life is for people to think that I’m Spanish. The girls here are just so cool. 

Me, Polly and Sam singing our little hearts out.

rockin it.


Why not
sign up for an optional two hour test in Spanish? I really don’t know what my thought process was behind this one.
After class, this lady came to talk to us about the BULATS test. It’s basically a test for businesses to test non-native speaker’s language abilities. They have it in Spanish, English, French and German. Normally, you have to pay for the test but this was a free pre-test. I signed up. Because I am an insane person. And because I’m slightly nerdy. All I’ll get is a certificate with my score, but I just figured why not? What else am I going to do from 4:30-7:30 pm? Ali and I both signed up and we were two of the very few Americans in the classroom. Way to represent, America. 

Why not volunteer while I’m in Salamanca? ISA gives us the opportunity to volunteer with different organizations in Salamanca. You can either work with the YMCA, Red Cross, Pyfano (work with children with cancer), or tutor English in middle/high schools. Since I think that I want to come back to Spain after I graduate to teach English, I decided to volunteer in the schools. I’m actually really excited. Told you I’m a nerd.

Why not schedule two intercambios? Salamanca has a website where you can put your name, age, where you’re from, language you speak, and language you want to practice, and then people will e-mail you for an intercambio. Two guys already e-mailed me and I’ll be meeting up with them next week for me to practice Spanish and him to practice English. I feel like it’s kind of like a blind date. Awkward small talk, good thing Rush prepares me for this. And good thing I can talk to a brick wall. But in Spanish? I’ll let you know how it goes.

8 thoughts on “Why Not?

  1. Blakely, I don’t know how to say this without sounding like a sappy dork, but I love the person you are. I truly love that you have a full appreciation for what you are experiencing right now, and I admire that you have the confidence to embrace this unique adventure. 🙂 I myself felt a bit lost in San Diego. Don’t know what I was thinking taking French instead of Spanish in high school……

  2. Dear Susan, I just re-read that comment and I want to correct myself. I should have said “appreciation of” instead of “appreciation for.” You’re welcome. 😉

Comment

