What You Missed

I’ve been such a bad blogger, so I’m going to try and turn up the charm on this post so you will all forgive me, vale?

So here’s what you’ve missed since the last post….
1. ISA set up a cooking class for us at a restaurant in Salamanca! We learned how to make Paella, Gazpacho and Spanish Tortilla. My cooking repertoire is sooooo cultured now. I have a short video, so you can see just how much fun we had.

2. Laura came to visit me in Salamanca! She had to take a plane, a taxi and a bus to get here, but she did it! Those of you who are familiar with Laura’s sense of direction are one thousand times more impressed than those who haven’t had the pleasure of taking a road trip or simply riding in the car with her. Liz, Polly and I showed her around Salamanca, ate chocolate y churros at Valor, shopped on Calle Toro, experienced the University town nightlife, found a delicious Mexican food restaurant for dinner, and basked in the sun (60 degrees, people. 60. Degrees) in the Plaza Mayor. You can’t go to the Plaza Mayor without seeing somebody that you know…even Laura. She randomly ran into a friend of hers from Sevilla….crazy.

No coats! Soaking up the sun in Salamanca's Plaza Mayor

3. Saturday, ISA took us on a day trip to Segovia. Segovia is a small city about two hours from Salamanca. It’s known for it’s aqueduct- 25,000 granite blocks that are  somehow held together without any mortar. One granite block taken out….bye, bye aqueduct. Pretty amazing. We also saw the Alcazar of Segovia, which is said to have inspired Walt Disney’s design for Sleeping Beauty’s castle. The five year old in me was in Heaven. I love castles, princesses and Disney! I climbed up the most narrow staircase EVER (150 stairs) to the top of the castle. Unfortunately for us, elevators weren’t invented in 1122. I know, shocking. It was definitely worth the climb because we got an overwhelmingly beautiful view of the city.

Basically Sleeping Beauty, right?

Aqueducts.

4. I played soccer for the first time in a long time. A very long time. And let me tell you, my body noticed. I didn’t want to move for three days straight. It hurt to get out of bed, put on jeans, cough, and just move in general. However, I really enjoyed playing my favorite sport in the beautiful weather (and in Spain)! An old Spanish couple got a few hours of free entertainment watching us play. Silly Americans, think they know how to play fútbol.

I’m going on another excursion this weekend with ISA, and it’s one that I’ve been looking forward to for a long time. I’ll update my blog as soon as I can next week! Hasta luego.

7 thoughts on “What You Missed

  1. Cuando vuelvas,¡vamos a cocinar a lo español para una cena especial! Tú, Laura y las personas que quieras…… De parte de ¡tu maestra favorita de Cinco!

Comment

