21.

As of March 9th, 2012….
I’ve been alive for 21 years.
I’m halfway to 42. Someone slow down time. Pleaseeeee.

What would normally be a huge celebration in the United States is just another candle on the cake in Spain.
But that doesn’t mean that we didn’t celebrate it American style.

Thursday night: Salamanca celebration.
Liz bought a cake for me and everyone at the Residencia sang to me after dinner. Three times. Which was three times too many. Once in Spanish, once in English, and once in Spanglish.
At midnight, everyone met up at The Chupiteria and celebrated the official beginning of my 21st birthday. Polly gave me a sash that said “It’s my 21st” on one side and “Dame un beso” (give me a kiss) on the other side. A Spanglish sash! She knows me so well. Liz placed a tiara on my head and my 21st birthday look was complete. For the rest of the night, we took over Salamanca and I finally crawled into bed at 6:00 am. Spanish style. 

yep. so there's that.

Lily and Me

Friday: Barcelona
The next day, Polly, Nick and I got on an airplane and headed to Barcelona to meet Laura, Kyla, Giovanni and James. After a verrrryyyyy long day and a some major mishaps, everyone finally made it to the apartment to start celebrating. We went to IceBarcelona which is a -5 degree Celsius lounge made completely of ice. They give you a special jacket and gloves to wear while inside so that you don’t freeze. Unless you’re Giovanni and James who couldn’t hang and had to leave early. Then we headed to Opium del Mar for the rest of the night. It was a lot of fun, but I was definitely missing the cheap prices in Salamanca.

Birthday Girls in Barcelona

Saturday consisted of us all lounging around the “pool” on top of the apartment complex. By pool I mean square pit of freezing cold water. That night the boys and the girls split up, but don’t ask me any more questions because I’m going to plead the fifth on that one.

Sunday we went to the Sagrada Familia (or, in simpler terms, the thing that looks like it’s been dripped on). This was the only touristy thing that we did that entire weekend. Oops. It’s a Roman Catholic cathedral that was designed by Gaudí in 1883, but by the time of his death in 1926, less than a quarter of it was complete. The cathedral is still under construction after being interrupted by the Spanish Civil War and funding issues. It’s expected to be completed in 2026. I feel like 143 years is sufficient time to complete a cathedral, right?

Sagrada Familia

Sunday night we returned to Salamanca and went to sleep. Immediately.
Here is Laura’s blog post about our birthday! A little more detailed than mine.

Sidenote: Today is Father’s Day in Spain (and we get the day off of class!), so I want to take a second and shout out to my father. I feel sorry for all the other dads in the world because I’m positive that they don’t get any better than Don. I don’t know how he puts up with me, but he does. With patience. A loooot of patience. Thanks for everything, Dad. I love you!

What a goob. Love you, Dad.

 

5 thoughts on “21.

  1. Well this is neat and everything but I don’t believe any of it because Laura would NEVER hang out in a place made of ice…….

Comment

