Euphoria.

On my first trip to Barcelona, Polly and I were sitting in a taxi when I heard a commercial saying that Enrique Iglesias was going to be in Madrid on March 4th for his Euphoria tour. I grabbed her arm and squealed as the taxi driver totally judged me and my violent reaction to such silly news. Apparently los españoles aren’t loco por Enrique, but I couldn’t help myself…my inner 90’s child got the best of me.

I consulted my best girl friends, and we all agreed that the trip to Madrid was necessary. I know that I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again….the answer while studying abroad is always yes. Unless some strange man wants to share a cab with you. That’s a no. But you catch my drift.

When May 4th rolled around, Polly turned to me and said, “This is so crazy. When we bought the tickets in March, we talked about how this would be one of the last weekends together, but it seemed so far away. Now it’s here! Where did the time go?!” Cue the tears. I’m convinced that Father Time is out to get me. He always does the opposite of what I want him to. Hate that guy. 

The night before the concert I took a night bus to Madrid. Luckily, I have a Spanish friend that lives in Madrid and he offered to let me stay with him so I didn’t have to pay for a hostel. My bank account is rapidly dwindling, so I appreciate things like this. It helps to have Spanish friends! Thursday night he showed me around Madrid, we cooked dinner and spoke a lottttttttt of Spanish. It’s getting easier and easier to speak in Spanish for extended periods of time, but my head still feels like it’s about to explode at the end. Too. Much. Translating. I can’t wait to be past this stage in my language learning journey.

Friday morning, I woke up and met my other friend who lives in Madrid. He lives with a bunch of International students, so Polly, Annie (Polly’s friend from college who is studying in Oviedo), Liz and I hung out with them until….

Hanging out in Madrid before the concert

It was time to go to the concert. Our seats were pretty far away, but that didn’t make a difference. We spent the entire concert screaming the lyrics and jumping up and down like pre-teen girls at a Justin Bieber concert. There’s something about Enrique Iglesias that makes you forget that you’re a 21 year old adult. Madrid is Enrique’s hometown, so the atmosphere was absolutely incredible. Everyone loved him, and he loved everyone. He slow danced with one lucky fan to “Hero”, and brought a mother and son on stage to sing with him during another song. The concert ended around midnight….otherwise known as the beginning of the night in Spain.

Polly and me at the concert.

See that speck? That’s Enrique. Zoomed in.

We met up with our friends and found a restaurant called Aguacate (Avocado in English)which was kind of like a Chipotle. I bought a quesadilla and then cried about the lack of Mexican food in my life for the past four months. Okay, I didn’t really cry, but I could have. I’m just glad that there aren’t places open late like that  in Salamanca or I probably wouldn’t be able to fit into any of my clothes.

However, if my Mom and my Dad wanted to greet me at the Houston airport with some Mexican food, I wouldn’t turn it down. (subtle hint).

We spent the rest of the night in Madrid hanging out, and returned to Salamanca the next morning because I had these things called finals the next week. I know….what a bore.

Also, completely unrelated, but absolutely necessary….

I want to say Happy Mothers day to the most wonderful mother in the entire world. I’m sorry if I make you question your parenting choices on a daily basis. I’m sorry if I am a constant source of worry while I’m abroad. I’m sorry if I make you a little crazy sometimes. But thanks for loving me anyway. I’ll consider it a success in life if I’m half as great of a mother as you are. I don’t know what I’d do without your constant love and support. I miss you and love you always. See you soon, Mom Grimm!

Comment

