My City, part 1.

My obsession with Salamanca is no secret. By now, you should all know that I’m absolutely in love with this city. My city.

Since my time in Salamanca is coming to an end, I decided to compose a list of my favorite places in Salamanca.

In no particular order….

1. Plaza Mayor

Plaza Mayor, Salamanca

In the Plaza Mayor

Arguably the most beautiful Plaza Mayor in all of Spain, it’s my favorite place to “people watch”. I always run into someone that I know when I’m walking through this plaza, and I can’t count the number of times that I’ve met a group of people debajo del reloj before heading to a different location. The Plaza Mayor’s lights come on at the same time every night, and it’s one of my favorite things to watch. Everyone claps and stares in amazement. It’s the little things in life!

2.  ISA office

What would I do without the ISA office? It’s the perfect spot to go hang out with bother Carmen, Sofía, Bea, Roberto or Rodrigo in between classes. With free wifi, a printer to print off tickets for all of your exotic trips, a great staff, and a home-y feel….what more could you need? It’s also the perfect place to go if you’re ever bored because I guarantee that someone at the ISA office will entertain you.

3. Valor

I can smell the churros from here.

Just hanging out.

I’ve talked about Valor before, but there was no way that I was going to leave if off of this list. Valor has the best chocolate y churros in all of Salamanca, and let’s be real…is there really anything in this world that’s better than chocolate y churros?

4. Zara

Hey, bank account!

 My parents only let me bring one 50 pound suitcase for five months in Spain, so when laundry day rolled around and I didn’t have any clothes, Zara welcomed me with open arms! I’ve done a little damage in there over the past 5 months, and have become all too familiar with their inventory. You could say that I have developed a little obsession. You’re welcome, Spanish economy. 

5. Río Tormes/ Puente Romano

qué hermosa.

Just sittin’ by the río. Photo: Somer Stapleton.

Who knew that sitting by a river could be so much fun? I have spent many afternoons by the river and basking in the sun with my friends. In fact, my favorite memory of Salamanca was Lunes de Aguas where we spent all afternoon by the river with the rest of Salamanca’s population. It doesn’t hurt that the view of Salamanca from the río and the Puento Romano is absolutely stunning. I love reminding myself that I live here, and get to see this view every.single.day….qué locura!
Part 2 will be coming soon!

One thought on “My City, part 1.

  1. Pingback: My City, part 2 | La Vida Española

Comment

