My City, part 2

A few weeks ago, I wrote this post about my favorite places in Salamanca.
I also promised that there would be a part two, so I don’t want to leave you guys hanging!

6. Plaza de Anaya


Hanging out in the Plaza de Anaya
Photo by Somer Stapleton

The Plaza de Anaya is the area in between the New Cathedral and the Facultad de Filología. It’s absolutely stunning during the day, and it’s even more beautiful at night. The cathedral is lit up and students are crowding the grassy areas with their friends and pets (and bottles/boxes of alcohol). It’s a veryyyy popular place to botellón amongst the students, and there’s always something interesting happening.

7. Don Quijote


I’ve written about this place before because it is my favorite place to go get Tapas. The guys that work here are incredibly nice, the prices are cheap, and it was only 5 minutes away from my Residencia. We became regulars within the first few weeks, and we would spend hours talking and catching up over patatas bravas and vino tinto. Definitely worth a stop if you’re ever in Salamanca!

8. Paniagua

So many good times at Paniagua.

My friend Michelle saw a bunch of tagged pictures of me at Paniagua, and asked if I joined a Spanish Fraternity. Her reasoning was that Paniagua looked like a Fraternity house. Between the pictures and writing on the walls, and the most disgusting bathrooms in the history of bathrooms I can’t say that I disagree. 
However, Paniagua is not a Spanish Fraternity, it’s my favorite bar in Salamanca. It’s on the “Spanish side” of the Plaza Mayor, so there aren’t as many Americans as some of the other places, the music isn’t overbearingly loud, so we can all talk and hang out, and the drinks are dirt cheap. I have so many good memories from Paniagua, and I definitely ALREADY miss it.

9. Graffiti


This particular artist has similar graffiti/art all over Salamanca and I just think it’s the coolest thing ever. Lily and I had to get a picture before we left!

10. Lock Garden

Read my post on the Lock Garden here!

If you’re looking for more reading then check out my newest article for College Lifestyles: Out Of The Mouths Of Men: Relationships!

2 thoughts on “My City, part 2

  1. I was in Salamanca for about 3 months studying Spanish and I miss it so much! I miss the botellons and I’d love to go back to visit the some of these places that I’ve missed out on.
    Keep blogging because I probably will go back one day and check all these places out!

    • You should definitely go back and visit Salamanca! I just left Salamanca a few weeks ago, and I already miss it but I plan to return very soon! Thanks for reading!

Comment

